The Truth Lover’s Prayer

Caitlin Johnstone
3 min readJul 11, 2024

--

Listen to a reading by Tim Foley:

May I see the truth, especially the truth I don’t want to see.

May I see the truth everywhere — in my world, in my nation, in my community, in my family, and in myself — especially in the places I’d prefer not to look.

May I see the truth, even when it hurts.

May I see the truth, even when it’s embarrassing.

May I see the truth, even if it means I was wrong.

May I see the truth, even when it conflicts with my image of myself.

May I see the truth, even when it disrupts my partisan biases and tribalistic loyalties.

May I see the truth, even when it means I’ll have to tear down my entire worldview and build a whole new one — with all the discomfort and disorientation that comes with this.

May I see the truth, even if it means I’ll have to get rid of some part of myself that I hold tightly and treasure deeply.

May I see the truth, even when it contradicts beliefs, values and core parts of my identity that I don’t yet know how to live without.

May I see the truth, even when it means having to go through life with a much greater sense of alienation in this society.

May I see the truth, even if it will permanently damage my view of people I currently love and respect.

May I see the truth, even if it means having to walk away from plans, dreams, and long-sought goals.

May I see the truth, even if it means I’ll have to change my career to be at peace with myself.

May I see the truth, even if it will end my relationship.

May I see the truth, even if it means living in a world that is more painful, cruel or complicated than the world I thought I was living in.

May I see the truth, even if it means I’ll have to burn down my whole life and start over again.

May I see the truth, even if it means losing my entire identity.

May I see the truth, especially the truths I’ve spent my whole life running away from.

May I see the truth, especially the truths I am convinced I will die if I see.

May I see the truth, especially the truths which can only be seen if I let go of things I’ve been clinging onto as though my life depends on it.

May I see the truth, so that the whole of my being may be shaped and guided by its light.

May I see the truth, everywhere, on all levels and in all aspects, in every part of my being, come what may.

Amen.

_____________

My work is entirely reader-supported, so if you enjoyed this piece here are some options where you can toss some money into my tip jar if you want to. Go here to find video versions of my articles. Go here to buy paperback editions of my writings from month to month. All my work is free to bootleg and use in any way, shape or form; republish it, translate it, use it on merchandise; whatever you want. The best way to make sure you see the stuff I publish is to subscribe to the mailing list on Substack, which will get you an email notification for everything I publish. All works co-authored with my husband Tim Foley.

Bitcoin donations: 1Ac7PCQXoQoLA9Sh8fhAgiU3PHA2EX5Zm2

Featured image via Adobe Stock.

--

--